2018 Noble Lilly finalists

Ten students were selected as finalists for Noble County’s Lilly Endowment Scholarship, which will be awarded in early December. Pictured from left are, front row: Alyson Robinson, Hailey Meyer, Grace Erwin, Grace Frazier, and Katie Shambuagh. Back row, from left are BreAnna Hunter, Andrew Alwine, Michael Bender, Jamie Zeigler and Megan Godfrey.

LIGONIER — Ten students were recently interviewed for Noble County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship at the Community Foundation of Noble County.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides four years of full-tuition and required fees awarded to one well-rounded high school senior who resides in Noble County, will receive a diploma from an accredited Indiana high school by the end of June 2019, and will pursue a full-time baccalaureate course of study at an accredited public or private college or university in Indiana.

Community Foundation of Noble County also requires community/volunteer service, extra-curricular activities, leadership roles and honors and awards and at least a 3.80 high school grade-point average.

This year’s finalists include five seniors from East Noble, one from Central Noble, two from West Noble and two from Smith-Green schools.

Those students include: Andrew Alwine, Michael Bender, Grace Erwin, Grace Frazier and Hailey Meyer from East Noble High School; Alyson Robinson, of Central Noble Jr./Sr.High School; Megan Godfrey and BreAnna Hunter from West Noble High School; and Katie Shambaugh and Jamie Zeigler of Churubusco Jr./Sr. High School.

The Noble County recipient of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship will be announced in early December 2018. Last year’s winner was Sahil Patel of East Noble High School.

Other finalists for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship will receive a $1,000 scholarship from the Community Foundation of Noble County.

Selection of the students was based on their applications submitted in August to the community foundation, which were reviewed by a panel of judges representing the central, east and west parts of Noble County.

Names of the top candidate and two alternates will be submitted for final selection to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. ICI is a nonprofit organization that represents 30 regionally accredited, degree-granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education, according to the community foundation. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. A total of 143 Lilly scholarships are awarded statewide.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.