Westview academic awards program

Westview High School Principal Rich Cory opened Westview’s 35th annual Academic Awards Program Wednesday night. Dozens of Westview seniors were awarded tens of thousands of dollars to help them with their postsecondary educations.

EMMA — Kent Yoder got in a little extra exercise Wednesday evening during Westview High School senior scholarship program.

Classmates Alyveva Bender and Lauryn Riegsecker got in their share of walking to and from the program’s podium to collect scholarships as well.

Members of Westview’s Class of 2018-2019 were awarded dozens of scholarships as the school hosted its 35th annual Academic Awards Program.

Senior Grace Miller, one of the school’s four co-valedictorians, was named te winner of the Tri Kappa English Cup Award. Miller also was named the LaGrange County Community Foundation’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Miller also earned a Marines Scholastic Excellence award. Miller also was named to the NECC All-Academic team.

Bender was named the winner of a $1,000 Tri Kappa Scholarship, a $750 Delta Theta Tau Scholarship, and the Noble County Extension Homemakers Scholarship.

Yoder, another one of the school co-valedictorians, was awarded the LaGrange County Rotary Club scholarship worth $750, as well as well as a Marines Scholastic Excellence award, the D.A.R. Good Citizen Award, the $1,000 Craig and Ronda Neff Memorial Scholarship, the Farmwald Scholarship, a $1,200 Olive B. Cole Foundation Scholarship, a Rheinheimer Award, and the Morgan Hunter Memorial Scholarship worth $500.

Hannah Mast received the Goshen Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship and A LIFE scholarship.

Co-valedictorian Madison Kresse received the Purdue University Club of Elkhart County scholarship, the Ellsworth Fanning Memorial Scholarship, the Better Business Bureau Student of Integrity award, and a Rheinheimer Award.

Kalei Bollinger was awarded a Children of the American Revolution Award, a Marines Semper Fidelis Music Award and the Michael R. Gingerich Building Trades Memorial Award.

Lauryn Riegsecker was awarded a Marines Distinguished Athlete Award, along with Nickolas Rensberger. Reigsecker also earned a Keith and Arline Davis Memorial Scholarship, the Lyle Smith Scholarship, as well as being named a member of the NECC All-Academic team.

Karis Bachman was awarded the American Red Cross Scholarship, an Olive B. Cole Scholarship and the LaGrange County Farm Bureau Scholarship.

Brandon Eash was awarded the LaGrange County REMC Scholarship.

Carter Giggy was awarded a Marine Semper Fidelis Music Award.

Madilyn Kazmucha was named the winner of the George O. Witwer News Sun Journalism Scholarship, a Lambright Leadership Scholarship, a Kerry Wilt Spradlin Memorial Scholarship, and the Melvin and Marjorie Bricker Memorial Scholarship.

Markus Miller received the James Kalb Memorial Scholarship.

LeAnna Miller was awarded a Kerry Wilt Spradlin Memorial Scholarship.

Denis Wingard was named a Keith and Arline Davis Memorial Scholarship winner.

Elijah Hales was named a member of the NECC All-Academic team.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.