BUTLER — Four members of Eastside’s softball team earned recognition from Northeast Corner Conference coaches.

Junior MacKensie Rieke and senior Brittany Salinas were first-team All-NECC selections. Freshmen Mataya Bireley and Faith McClain received honorable mention.

Salinas batted .424 with a team-best 28 hits in 66 at-bats. She scored 18 runs, had six doubles, two triples, a home run and drove in 15 runs while striking out just four times.

Rieke batted .355 with 22 hits in 62 at-bats. She scored 18 runs and drove in 11. Rieke had seven doubles, a triple and stole 11 bases.

Bireley batted .379 with 22 hits and 15 runs scored. She knocked in 15 runs with four doubles and two triples.

McClain batted a team-best .436 with 24 hits in 55 at-bats. She scored 16 times and drove in nine. McClain had five doubles, two triples and swiped a team-leading 13 bases.

Lakeland, which finished 6-4 in NECC contests, had four first-team selections. Angola, Central Noble, Fairfield and regular-season champion Fremont had three first-team picks each.

Eastside, Garrett, West Noble and Westview had two first-team picks each. Churubusco and Prairie Heights had one player selected each.

All-NECC Softball

First Team

Angola: Amanda Cope, Jr.; Emma Konrad, Sr. and Reace Peppler, Sr.

Central Noble: Madison Bremer, Jr.; Samantha Brumbaugh, Jr. and Jocelyn Winebrenner, Jr.

Churubusco: Abigail Erwin, Soph.

Eastside: MacKensie Rieke, Jr. and Brittany Salinas, Sr.

Fairfield: Chloe Dell, Jr.; Kayla Miller, Soph. and Sarah Shank, Jr.

Fremont: Madalyn Beeman, Jr.; Jaden Cardoso, Sr. and Autumn Godwin, Sr.

Garrett: Ryanne Arambula, Jr. and Kierra Richards, Jr.

Lakeland: Elise Edwards, Sr.; Chloe Gust, Fr.; Kylee Palmer, Jr. and Kierstin Roose, Soph.

Prairie Heights: Emily Burkholder, Sr.

West Noble: Kacee Click, Soph. and Kourtnie Jones, Sr.

Westview: Alexys Antal, Fr. and Tori Antal, Sr.

Honorable mention

Angola: Kyler Crowl, Jr. and Janna Schwartzengraber, Jr.

Central Noble: Jenica Berkes, Soph.; Bridgette Gray, Soph. and Andrea Leonhardt, Sr.

Churubusco: Madison Simmons, Sr.

Eastside: Mataya Bireley, Fr. and Faith McClain, Fr.

Fairfield: Krista Wagler, Sr.

Fremont: Macayla Guthrie, Jr.

Lakeland: Makayla Mast, Sr.

Prairie Heights: Haylee Henderson, Soph. and Breanna Walter, Soph.

West Noble: Tori Franklin, Soph. and Jaden Hanna, Sr.

Westview: Addie Bender, Soph. and Zoe Williams, Jr.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.