Angola's Trevor Marple

Angola’s Trevor Marple tries to turn his Eastside opponent on his back during a 132-pound match Thursday. Marple won the match by pin in 5:33.

ANGOLA — Angola’s wrestling team started Thursday’s match with Eastside in good shape, winning four of the first five matches for a 24-6 lead.

After that, the visitors scored pins or forfeits at the next seven weight classes on the way to a 48-33 win.

Gage Spreuer (106) got the Hornets started on the right foot with a pin in 3 minutes, 55 seconds over Eastside’s Cody Collins. Jett Boots (120) was a winner by pin in 1:27 over Eastside’s Luke Collins. The Hornets’ Trevor Marple pinned his Eastside opponent in 5:33 at 132 pounds. Damien Shaffer (113) was a winner by forfeit.

Winning by pin for the Blazers were Lane Burns (138 pounds), Mason Fritch (145), Kristopher Patrick (160), Treyven McKinley (170) and Jackson Wicker (195).

Briar Munsey (126), Dackotia Reed (152) and Dax Holman (182) were winners by forfeit for Eastside.

Burns got the ball rolling with a pin in 48 seconds over Angola’s Kade Meyer. Fritch followed with a pin in 3:13 over Angola’s North Coltrin.

Patrick needed 51 seconds to pin Anakin Scott’s shoulders to the mat. McKinley scored a pin in 2:44 over Angola’s Lane Word. Wicker finished the run with a pin in 1:37 over Angola’s Dalton McCue.

After that stretch of matches, the visitors had a 48-24 advantage with two weight classes to go.

Angola finished the night on a positive note, getting a 4-1 decision from Coy Brames over Eastside’s Keegan Miller at 220 pounds. Brandon Villafuerte pinned Eastside’s Hunter Miller in 2:31 at 285 pounds.

In reserve action, Eastside’s Seth Baker (138) was a 9-8 winner over Angola’s Austin Mitchell.

Eastside 48, Angola 33

106 — Spreuer (A) wins by 3:55 pin over Cody Collins (ES). 113 — Shaffer (A) wins by forfeit. 120 — Boots (A) wins by 1:27 pin over Luke Collins (ES). 126 — Munsey (ES) wins by forfeit. 132 — Marple (A) wins by 5:33 pin over Tanner Wicker (ES). 138 — Burns (ES) wins by :41 pin over Meyer (A). 145 — Fritch (ES) wins by 3:13 pin over Coltrin (A). 152 — Reed (ES) wins by forfeit. 160 — Patrick (ES) wins by :51 pin over Scott (A). 170 — McKinley (ES) wins by 2:44 pin over Word (A). 182 — Holman (ES) wins by forfeit. 195 — Jackson Wicker (ES) wins by 1:37 pin over McCue (A). 220 — Brames (A) wins by 4-1 dec. over Keegan Miller (ES). 285 — Villafuerte (A) wins by 2:31 pin over Hunter Miller (ES).


138 — Baker (ES) wins by 9-8 dec. over Mitchell (A).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.